top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGreg Hard

TFI Friday…

Updated: Jan 16, 2022

Friday 14th January 2022


A few days on from the last post and things have certainly improved. After a few ’low’ days, I took stock and tried to get some routine into my days. This has certainly helped me in lots of ways. As anyone going through this kind of recovery will know, it is important to get the right balance of all the things you need to do - exercise, medication and rest being the key ones. I had being doing these but without any routine and were all a bit ‘ad-hoc’. Getting a routine in place that suited me has paid dividends and I have been sleeping better, needing slightly less pain medication and improving my movement.


My daily exercises are still painful, and some movements are much harder than others. I can now lift my leg which is a relief as I couldn’t do it at all a few days ago, but I am still struggling with bending at the knee. This is still very painful and restricted.


My leg is still very swollen and the bruising along my foot has got a lot darker - it doesn’t hurt but it does look pretty grim - and my foot has swollen somewhat. I obvioulsy haven’t been elevating it enough so have tried to improve on this and I have also taken up the kind offer of borrowing a friend’s pumped cooling knee brace. I used one briefly in hospital but didn’t give it another thought until my leg started to balloon. I had a session with it earlier today and it was blooming marvellous (Thanks Nick!).


I know I’m not out of the woods yet but I certainly feel that things are now moving in the right direction. Next week brings a second visit to the physio and a trip to the consultant to remove the dressing - it will be interesting to see what’s going on under there as there is a bit of staining visible through the dressing.


So the end of the week was certainly better than the beginning. Shows you need to take one day at a time and make those gradual changes which soon add up to a noticeable improvement which, however small, gives the impetus to keep going.





66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page